Volunteering

CLP staff are encouraged to volunteer. CLP China has set up volunteer teams to organise various activities for the public. Each team member contributes personal and professional knowledge to meet the needs of the community and bring joy to children and the elderly.

Fangchenggang Power Station established a volunteer team in 2009, and has provided charitable services to communities and schools in Nanning and in the neighborhood of the power station, benefiting more than 1,000 local residents. In the summer of 2014, a student surnamed Lin from Fangchenggang Experimental High School suffered from acute lymphocytic leukemia and was in danger. Upon hearing the news, the volunteer team of Fangchenggang Power Station immediately launched a donation initiative among colleagues. In a few days, it raised tens of thousands of yuan for Lin to help him tide over the difficulties. During Lin’s treatment at the hospital, volunteers also paid regular visits to him to give him encoragement. In 2019, Lin returned to the campus and was admitted to Guilin Medical College, and shared the good news with the volunteer team. Considering the financial position of Lin’s family, the volunteer team again raised 5,000 yuan among colleagues to help him pursue his academic dream.

The volunteer team of Huaiji Hydropower Station was set up in 2011. Since then, volunteers have made regular visits to poor children in the neighborhood, bringing necessary school supplies to them on the one hand, and offering classes on safety to increase their safety awareness on the other hand. Thanks to the team’s continuous efforts, the number of safety accidents in the reservoir area has dropped year after year, benefiting the neighborhood in an effective way.

During public holidays, volunteer teams from Qian’an Wind Farm visit nursing homes in the community, bringing gifts and care to the elderlies. The caring visits by Qian’an Wind Farm volunteers conducted since 2012 have drawn attention of the local government, and renovated the road leading to the nursing home to facilitate these visits.

Starting from 2018, Sihong Solar Power Station has called on staff to visit the nearby nursing home on the occasion of the Double Ninth Festival to provide volunteer services for the elderly. In addition to bringing them daily necessities, volunteers also invite doctors to conduct health checks for the elderly, provide haircuts and grooming services to them, and play chess and chat with them so that they can enjoy a good time.

CLP volunteers from Qian’an Wind Farm visit an elderly’s homeCLP volunteers from Qian’an Wind Farm visit an elderly’s home

Environmental protection is also an important initiative of CLP’s volunteer teams. During the tree planting festival, our volunteer teams organise tree planting activities for members and their families to help create a greener environment and increase environmental awareness. In 2007, the volunteer team of Fangchenggang Power Station built an exclusive CLP Environmental Protection Zone in Nanning People’s Park.
CLP volunteers from Fangchenggang Power Station take part in a tree-plating event
CLP volunteers from Fangchenggang Power Station take part in a tree-plating event
CLP volunteers from Sandu Wind Farm take part in a tree-plating event
CLP volunteers from Sandu Wind Farm take part in a tree-plating event
BEAM is a charitable event which sends international medical missions to provide free operations for needy children and adults with cleft lips and palates. Since 2015, CLP employees have actively participated in BEAM’s initiatives across the Mainland.

CLP volunteers take part in the charity event “Smiling hope-BEAM” in Fengkai, Guangdong Province

As CLP continues to expand its operation in Mainland China, the volunteer teams will grow in numbers and strength, increasing their positive impact on local communities.

义工服务

中电鼓励员工热心参与义工活动。中电广西、广东、吉林等地项目相继成立了义工队,为社区群众组织各种活动。义工队的各位同事都积极发挥个人及专业知识,解决社区人士的部分需求并为长者及儿童带来欢乐。

在防城港电厂,义工队成立于2009年,公益活动涉及南宁及电厂周边社区及学校,已服务了上千人。2014年夏天,防城港市实验高中一名患“急性淋巴细胞白血病”的林同学危在旦夕,防城港电厂义工队得知消息后,即刻向电厂同事们发出捐款倡议,短短几天时间,就为林同学募集到了几万元善款,帮助他渡过难关,在林同学治病期间,义工队同事定期到医院看望他,为他加油打气。2019年,重返校园的林同学顺利考上了桂林医学院,第一时间将这个消息告诉了义工队,考虑到林同学家境情况,义工队又为他在电厂募集了5000元助学金,帮助他逐梦大学。

在怀集水电项目,自2011年成立义工队以来,同事们便坚持每年不定期探访电站近区周边贫困儿童,一方面为孩子们提供必要的学习用品,一方面又为孩子们开展安全课堂,传递安全文化知识。义工队年复一年的安全宣传和教育,让库区安全事故的发生率逐年降低,切实守护了一方安全。

在乾安风场,义工队每到节日期间,便会到访社区周边的养老院,带去慰问品,同时与孤寡老人谈心交流,这项活动自2012年持续至今。乾安风场义工持续的到访,也引起了当地政府的注意,后来专门为敬老院维修了通往敬老院的道路。

在泗洪光伏电站,从2018年开始,公司陆续号召组织员工在重阳节之际前往附近养老院,为孤寡老人提供义工服务。除了给老人院带去生活必需品,同事们还为老人请来医生,检查身体;为老人们理发,整理仪容;和老人们下棋、聊天,让他们有更多的娱乐活动。

乾安风场义工已经连续8年到访当地敬老院慰问,赠送慰问品
乾安风场义工已经连续8年到访当地敬老院慰问,赠送慰问品

环境保护也是中电义工队关注的重要内容之一。植树节期间,义工队便会组织队员及家属举行植树活动,为环境绿化和宣传环境保护尽一分力量。2007年,防城港电厂义工队在南宁市人民公园兴建了专属的“中电环保林”。

广西防城港义工植树活动
广西防城港义工植树活动

贵州三都风电场义工植树造林
三都风场义工参加植树活动

“微笑的希望–BEAM医疗任务”是一项国际公益服务活动,活动主要帮扶贫困地区的唇腭裂儿童和成年人进行免费手术,为他们重新找回灿烂的微笑。2015年至今,中电的员工每年都会响应集团号召,积极参与到BEAM在中国内地的医疗任务中。

中国区志愿者到广东封开参加“微笑的希望—BEAM”公益活动。

随着中电在内地不断扩展业务,义工队伍将日益壮大。他们富有意义的服务将为当地社区带来正面影响。